My Musical 2018

As 2018 comes to an end, I thought I would give blogging another go, and continue it well into the new year. And what better way to start than by looking back on the year we’ve had.

It’s been a hectic year for me, as I imagine it has been for many of you. But it’s certainly had its fair share of fantastic musical experiences! So I thought I’d take a look at the year I’ve had by looking at what albums I’ve particularly enjoyed, as well as the gigs I’ve been to….. and oh there’s plenty of both!

So without any more jibber jabber, lets dive in…

Top 10 Albums of 2018

10. Myles Kennedy – Year Of The Tiger

9. The Dead Daisies – Burn It Down

8. Tremonti – A Dying Machine

7. The Temperance Movement – A Deeper Cut

6. Shinedown – Attention Attention

5. Alter Bridge – Live At The Royal Albert Hall

4. Slash Feat. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators – Living The Dream

3. Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons – The Age Of Absurdity

2. Greta Van Fleet – Anthem Of The Peaceful Army

1. Ghost – Prequelle

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Other notable releases from 2018 include the likes of Family Tree from Black Stone Cherry, And Justice For All by Five Finger Death Punch, Vicious by Halestorm and one album that I’m particularly fond of, Ain’t Always Easy from Stone Broken.

As well as musical releases, there has been plenty of chances for me to see some of my favourite bands/artists live around the country. And some of these even presented the opportunity for me to meet some of these bands. So here’s a list of my top 5 gigs from the year (in no particular order – it’s pretty hard to order these!)

Top 5 Concerts of 2018

  • Sunday 4th March: The Temperance Movement – Newcastle, University.
  • Friday 8th – Sunday 10th June: Download Festival – Donington Park
  • Tuesday 31st July: Iron Maiden – Newcastle, Metro Radio Arena
  • Monday 29th October: Shinedown – Newcastle, O2 Academy
  • Wednesday 14th November: Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons – Newcastle, University.

Other gigs that I’ve been to, which have particularly stood out in my mind throughout the year, include the likes of Stereophonics, Foo Fighters, Tremonti, The Dead Daisies, Black Star Riders and The Wandering Hearts.

But, if I had to pick one moment in the entire year that particularly stands out to me, musically, I must say it was the night of the 29th October.
That night, I travelled up to Newcastle Upon Tyne to see Shinedown perform their first headline show in Newcastle since 2012, and my oh my it was a spectacle!
As a late birthday present to myself I even treat myself to a cheeky Meet and Greet Upgrade, to make the night a little more exciting! I. Was. Buzzing! I got a little signed collection going, and they even, rather kindly, signed my tattoo which I got tattooed later too…!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SO it’s safe to say that 2018 has been one of the best musical years I’ve gone through so far, and I’m very excited to see what 2019 has to hold for us! I’ve already got a list of gigs lined up, so now we just need to see some new music from our favourite bands.

I have no doubts that 2019 will be amazing! I wish you all the best for 2019!

SEE YOU SOON

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment